Cricket: Bangladesh Win Toss And Bat In First NZealand T20

Cricket: Bangladesh win toss and bat in first NZealand T20

NAPIER, New Zealand, Jan 3, (Pakistan Point News - APP - 03rd Jan, 2017 ) - Bangladesh elected to bat first after winning the toss in the first Twenty20 against New Zealand at McLean Park in Napier on Tuesday. New Zealand swept the 50-over series last week and Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza said he was keen for his side to bounce back. "It looks to me a very nice wicket and in T20 cricket the best option is to bat," he said. It is the first shortened version of the game played by both sides since the World Twenty20 early last year.

New Zealand have included a debutant in middle-order batsman Tom Bruce while Neil Broom, who starred in the ODIs, has been brought into the line-up in place of the injured Martin Guptill. New Zealand: Kane Williamson (capt), Neil Broom, Colin Munro, Corey Anderson, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ben Wheeler, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson. Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Sabbir Rahman, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Soumya Sarkar, Mosaddek Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain. Umpires: Shaun Haig (NZL), Wayne Knights (NZL) Third umpire: Chris Brown (NZL) Match referee: Chris Broad (ENG)