AJK LA Elects Speaker, Deputy Speaker, PM To Be Elected Sunday

AJK LA elects Speaker, Deputy Speaker, PM to be elected Sunday

MUZAFFARABAD, (Pakistan Point News - APP - 30th july, 2016) : Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML- N)'s candidate Shah Ghulam Qadir and Sardar Farooq Tahir elected as Speaker and Dy speaker of Azad Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly here on Saturday. The newly elected AJK Assembly met under the chairmanship of outgoing Speaker Sardar Ghulam Sadiq Khan and elected Speaker and Deputy Speaker after taking oath as member except the one member Sardar Khalid Ibrahim Khan.

PML-N's candidate for speaker-ship Shah Ghulam secured 39 votes out of 40 votes polled while Muslim Conference candidate Malik Muhammad Nawaz and Pakistan Peoples Party's candidate Aamar Ghafar Lone obtained 3 and 4 votes respectively while two votes were rejected. The ruling PML-N's candidate Sardar Farooq Tahir won the position of Dy. Speaker by securing 39 votes as well while his rivals Muslim Conference's Sardar Sagheer Chughtai got 5 votes and PPP's candidate Shazia Akbar secured 4 votes.

The newly-elected members of the AJK Legislative Assembly from both treasury and opposition benches felicitated the newly Speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir and Deputy Speaker Sardar Farooq Tahir for assuming their respective offices. In his inaugural address to the newly-elected AJK Legislative Assembly on this occasion, the newly elected Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly expressed his profound gratitude to the members of AJK Legislative Assembly for electing him as Speaker of the newly-elected Azad Jammu Kashmir Legislative Assembly.

Qadir said that he will run the house with the cooperation and assistance of all the assembly members. He said that all members of the assembly are equally respectable for him. Shah Ghulam Qadir said that all rules and regulations would be followed for the better functioning of the newly-elected government. It may be added that Shah Ghulam Qadir had been holding the office of Speaker of AJK Legislative Assembly during a past regime. The AJK legislative Assembly will elect leader of the house on Sunday (Tomorrow) at 10am for which, PML-N has already nominated Raja Farooq Haider Khan.